Scholarship of Teaching an Learning with a new course

Just received a 100 page document compiled by doc students based on survey research they did related to my teaching as part of my SOTL process for self study. This focused on a course I created and taught for the first time this semester. It was the first hybrid course in the program in a very long time for what is usually an all online Masters degree. There will be a huge amount to review and I will use it to revise the course and my instructional methods. My hope is that I can identify and reduce my bad instructor habits and better meet student needs when I teach it again next spring. Self study and the level of reflection I have forced myself to do this semester both in video and text reflections has been brutal, but somewhat therapeutic. It truly made me confront my identity and instructional practices while contributing to my building of LTCA theory by giving very specific examples in practice. It also made me realize how much work I need to do as a teacher and learner.

20110513-044040.jpg

Leave a Reply

